“Ballroom Was My Defibrillator” – A Conversation with Elizabeth Thomson

I was going to post my own post today, but I came across this from The Girl with the Tree Tattoo, and as someone who has recently struggled with debilitating depression, this struck a chord with me. Such an inspiring story and good to know that there are others who also found ballroom to be healing. Thanks to the Girl and Liz for sharing her story!

The Girl With The Tree Tattoo

When I first spoke with Nicholas Barkley and Elizabeth Thomson about doing an interview for the blog, I also proposed a second set of individual interviews. Their stories of how ballroom became the key to coping with their PTSD were incredible and deserved their own spaces, separate from their shared story of becoming an amateur couple.

Liz was kind enough to make time for me during one of her visits down to Orange County. We met at my studio after one of my dance lessons and talked for over an hour. While we sat stretched out on the floor of the teachers’ break room, Liz shared her journey, from enlisting in the Army to getting diagnosed with PTSD to finding relief in ballroom. Although she still struggles, ballroom has been Liz’s defibrillator. It brought her back to life and saved her from becoming “just another PTSD statistic.”

View original post 2,746 more words

Leave a Reply

