Competitive Success

I am sorry for being away so long.

The competition was a huge personal success–which is always the best type.

I will do a review of the competition itself from a pro/am perspective in my next post, but first I wanted to talk more generally about it.

I started on Friday daytime with standard, and was uncontested in everything except my multi-dance.  It was a great run through my Waltz, tango and foxtrot routines and Boss was very happy with my dancing.  Following that, we switched to smooth and had the first run-through of 3 of the 4 smooth routines on the competitive floor.  I caught my heel on my dress during the waltz so bad I had to stop to unhook it, but other than that, the routines went really well and those in the audience loved them.  Boss and I had so much fun we were both quite ecstatic. I don’t think the routines could have gone better.

Friday night was Latin time and again, more fun. The crowd was great and all my routines went really well.  The only ‘sour’ note was during the open paso 1-dance.  The music that was played did not follow the usual paso phrasing, had no highlights and was cut short.  The result was that the choreography didn’t fit with the music and we had to try to keep adjusting.  Complaints were made by multiple dancers and it was fixed for the 5-dance scholarship.  That was the highlight of the evening–I got second of 3 in the open scholarship, but on a personal note, I was able to dance through all 5 routines, including jive with full energy.  While there were little mistakes here and there, I truly felt great about how I was dancing and ended the evening on a high note knowing that I had danced at that competition better than I had since before my diagnosis.  I was truly ‘back’.

Saturday morning began bright and early with more latin that also went equally well.  I still placed at the bottom, but it was very close in a lot of dances, especially rumba.

After a good break, and some coffee, it was back to the hall Saturday night for the standard and smooth scholarships.  The evening started out difficult with the one dance events, and I honestly had to give myself a little bit of a ‘time-out’ because I was finding myself unreasonably anxious.  It was likely due to fatigue, but the good news is that I was able to pull myself together for both the 3-dance and 5-dance scholarships.  Again on a personal note, I was able to dance through the entire 5-dance and only ‘faded’ in the VW. Despite that, I was able to take some points from the 3rd place competitor, which I did not expect in the open event.  I was able to fully rally after the VW and did a great foxtrot and powered through the QS.  It was a real personal achievement for me after so many months of struggling to get through a waltz and tango.

After the standard was a quick change for the smooth and that was about fun, more than anything.  The surprise for that was that I won the single dances, and got second in the 3-dance scholarship, coming very close to first!  I really did not expect that, but was over the moon happy with how the routines went–for the first time competing in open smooth and those routines, I could not have asked for anything better.

I truly could not be happier with how this competition went.  I was very proud of myself before we left for being able to overcome my medical challenges and do the solid preparation that was needed, but I am doubly proud of how I was able to dance–it wasn’t about just ‘getting through’ all the events–it was being able to dance.

The competition did exactly what I hoped it would do.  It gave me a strong indication of where I am and what the next steps should be.  It also let me know that I am at a point where I can really start to ‘dig in’ and get back to focusing on improving my technique and training at the level I want to.  I will meet with Boss this week to discuss the future, focus, goals and the plan moving forward.  I am looking forward to it.

On a different note, I got the text and paper done for my first course of my masters and working my way through the second.  It will keep me busy over the next couple weeks so I am sorry in advance if I don’t post too much.  I hope to get a couple more in this week, but no promises.

I hope you all had a weekend as great as mine!

Leave a Reply

