“Smoothing” things out

My lesson last night went fairly well, minus some difficulties with maintaining concentration.

I did get my injection yesterday though and can feel my energy returning and my head clearing which is a huge relief.

We worked on smooth waltz and foxtrot last night and were able to run through both without stopping. It took a few tries to get to that point because I kept forgetting what I was doing, but once I got it together it went well.  We smoothed out some of the styling in both routines.

I stayed to do a little bit of practice myself afterwards in jive, paso and smooth VW, but had to cut the time a little short because my knees were protesting loudly.  Thankfully they are feeling better today and I hope they will be less distracting at my lesson tonight.

The entry lists for the competition next week were posted last night and I am competing against people in almost all of my multi-dances and scholarships, so that is really exciting.

I am not really sure what to think or expect from this competition.  Unlike the last few competitions, the goal for this one doesn’t  have to be ‘just get through everything’.  It’s really my first ‘real’ competition since before my diagnosis, and in a lot of ways feels like a ‘first’ competition.  I do feel more prepared and confident going into this competition and that is a pleasant switch from the last one.  Almost all of my routines have been updated as well so it really is quite a ‘fresh’ start.

It is also the first competition where I will compete in smooth since I left the franchise system in 2014.  I am actually looking forward to it, especially in open where I can really just relax and have fun without a lot of expectations. I have enjoyed working on smooth and have been pleasantly surprised by how elements from smooth have transferred over into my standard and latin.

1 more week of preps!

Leave a Reply

