Adding Drama

Not something run of the mill for me.

There is a rather dramatic 16-bar section in our smooth tango, and it doesn’t work unless there is drama behind it.  Otherwise, it just looks staged or worse just plain silly.  So tonight the focus of the first part of my lesson was on working through the styling of that piece.

We ended up making some slight changes to the choreography to fit a little better with our interpretation of the sequence, but in the end, it seems to work really well.  We even made it through the entire tango in time with the music tonight which was a good feeling.

From there, we went on to smooth Viennese Waltz.  This is also coming together, and in the end it is a matter of just keeping both feet moving (in the correct time of course).  The running passage was slightly better today–I almost got it on time–and other than one piece that just didn’t seem to work we were able to do up to that piece, and then from just after it to the end–with the music without any major disasters.  Once we get the middle section together we should be good to go.

I was able to do some practice on my own tonight and I ran through the jive sequence that was giving me grief (it’s coming slowly–except it’s jive and it needs to be fast!) and I am feeling more comfortable with it.  I also ran through the paso.  It’s there at the 90% of tempo, a few small hiccups at 95% of tempo and missing a section when I do it at tempo.  But that is a lot better than it was last week, so small pat on the back for that.  It seems to be finally in my feet at least although I have to count almost every part mentally to keep it moving.  In the end it is a lot like the VW–just keep going.

I also figured out what to do for the extra bar in the cha cha–I am just going to start with a bit of a hold (meaning my feet won’t be moving), and then do the bar I put together straight into the start of the routine.  Not sure what Boss thinks of that yet, or how it works in context with him, but it at least works on my own.  I seem to be out of creative ideas for cha cha right now.

The night ended with another session of ‘Ballroom Boot Camp’ and tonight was the cardio version.  I really enjoyed the cardio version more than the strength training version as it was more challenging.  There were a lot of tricky footwork and agility exercises and it really was go go go cardio.  Two more sessions.

I get a break from lessons tomorrow and only have boot camp, but I have been told that Friday will be a review of the smooth foxtrot and paso as well as a run-through of all the standard routines ahead of the rounds practice on Sunday.

It is back to work for me tomorrow–but that’s ok.  Only 10 days until a real vacation where I am not on-call (as I was over Christmas).  I also start my masters on Monday!

2 weeks to the competition.  This weekend’s practice will be very telling–and I can’t wait!

 

Leave a Reply

