Lack of Latin interest

Because of Remembrance Day being yesterday and the studio being closed, I didn’t get a chance to do my Friday practice until today.

Friday practices focus on working on my latin routines after I complete my basic exercises.

But today something came clear that I have really been struggling with for quite some time.

I have very little interest right now in practicing and working on latin.  When it came to work on my routines today, I discovered that I just didn’t want to.  ‘Bored’ is the first word that came to mind, but upon reflection, that is not the right word.

I feel as though I have nothing to really work on.  I am not saying that everything I do is perfect–far from it–but that I am lacking direction on where to direct my focus.  What I can’t figure out is if I am frustrated because I still can’t do on my own, in time with the music, the spins and turns that I feel like I have been working on for months.  But I do know that when I do them with Boss and am able to use our connection to add to my momentum they work.

I only have 3 routines in latin right now–cha cha, samba and rumba.  Of those 3 routines, both cha cha and rumba are almost the same as my closed silver routines I have been doing for the last 2 years.  The samba is more different, but the spins are still eluding me at fast speeds.

There have been some small changes to the routines since the last competition, but in truth I have only had one latin lesson since that competition.  Most of that was focused on learning a new step in Paso.

I should have a latin lesson on Monday and I do hope that it will give me some direction and respark some interest in it.

I feel very challenged and driven in standard right now, but the most enthusiasm I can muster for latin is ‘meh’.  I am not sure how I can work on pushing my speed more, but that really seems like the one thing I have to focus on and there are limits to how I can progress that.

I just feel like I am doing the same things over and over and expecting different results–but at the same time I am not even sure what different results I am expecting.

I suppose there comes a point in every learning process when you feel you have reached a plateau and perhaps it is just a plateau I have reached in latin.  I am not sure what to do to break past the plateau into a new challenge.

I am hoping Boss will have some guidance.

Leave a comment