Non-Dancing Preps

My weekend got a little hijacked from me.

I woke up yesterday morning with a sore throat, muscle aches and a runny nose.  By 6 I was running a fever.  Needless to say, I didn’t go to practice today.

Despite feeling sick, I did get some of my non-dance preparations in.

Yesterday was about getting a manicure and pedicure, so a little bit of pampering for me.  I also got some esthetics done to make sure I have two eye brows :).  I also tried something I have never done before and got my white-blond eyebrows tinted a very pale brown.  I wasn’t too sure about it, but I like the results.  I started ‘penciling’ in my brows during chemo, but stopped when I stopped wearing scarves.  I think it will be good for dance though.  It makes my eyes stand out for sure.

I was also going through my inventory of make-up to make sure I have all I need for the competition.  I am glad I did because I had forgotten that I had tossed some of my eye shadow sticks that were a little too old.  My plan is to go for a pink and green look, with some gold accents.

I was disappointed to miss practice today, but in the end I think it was the right decision.  Considering how I feeling, if I had gone to practice, my focus would have been on just getting through the dances and not anything really productive.  There is a time for that, but one week before a competition is not one of them.

Thankfully, I was able to reschedule the practice for Wednesday to give me a chance to do a full run through of all my routines.

I am still feeling congested today, but my throat feels better, and my body is aching less.  No fever today, so I hope that means I will be almost back to ship-shop shape tomorrow.

The plan for tomorrow is to run through the solo about 3 times, then the latin routines (which we didn’t get to on Friday), then the standard routines.

I can tell it’s getting close to competition, I had the funniest dream last night.  Boss has been working on trying to get me to use my power more in standard and not hold back, especially when I am doing forward–I have to remember to drive and travel.  In my dream, we were doing standard and when the time came for me to go forward I suddenly started making vroom-vroom noises to remind myself to ‘drive’.  In the dream I thought I was making the noises in my head, but suddenly Boss stops and gives me a strange look because I was actually making the noises out loud!  I do a lot of strange things when I dance but that was a new one.  Guess it’s a good way to remember to ‘drive’!

Leave a Reply

