Endurance

Of all the things I lost while I was sick, my endurance is the thing I miss the most.  Hands down.

It is also the part I am having the most difficulty dealing with–mostly because it really wasn’t an issue before I got sick.  I was one of those people who could and would dance almost an entire social dance with no break, could do multiple classes in an evening followed by supervised practice, 3+hours and it would barely phase me.

Now I am lucky to get through a full lesson some days.  It’s a slow rebuilding process.

But the important thing is that there has been progress.  Between my first competitive practice a week ago, and the one yesterday, I was making it further through my routines and almost making it to the end of the round.  It’s a small change, but enough to feel good about.

I have noticed lack of endurance in my activities outside of dance, especially in my legs.  I think it hasn’t quite dawned on me how much leg strength I have lost.  One of the things to start doing after this competition is to start focusing on rebuilding more endurance–which is something physio also wants to do for my legs.

In general, I did well this weekend, although I did have a very ‘off’ day on Saturday.  I could feel the effects of the reduction in medication and had several hot flashes with nausea throughout the day.  I also felt exhausted and achy, so I gave myself a break and laid on the couch watching Netflix–something I can’t remember ever doing.

I felt better yesterday and today I have had almost no hot flashes and nausea–just a little bit of a manageable headache.  To say I am relieved it underwhelming.  I am tired, but not exhausted and my muscles also don’t ache as much–even after the practice yesterday.

I have a lesson tonight which I expect will be focused on some of the major points from yesterday, the solo and paso doble, which neither Boss nor I remembered yesterday.

I will be back later 🙂

Leave a Reply

