The Return of Hormone Therapy

The time has finally come.

I will restart hormone therapy at half dose tonight. If I can tolerate it, then I am to increase up to the full dose after two weeks.

I am very nervous and apprehensive about this.  Last time things went so badly.  I don’t want to go back to feeling that awful again.  This time, I am have been on medication that should help counteract the side effects for almost 6 months, and I am able to be active.  The problem is that the medication hasn’t been as effective as the oncologist seemed to hope.

One thing that is clear though and that both my oncologist agree on–if things do go sideways I am to stop the HT right away, and it will clear out of my system in about a week.  After that, there aren’t any other options the oncologist would be comfortable trying, so I will go without.  We shall see what the next week brings.

On the one hand though, I am relieved to finally be at the point where I can at least try this therapy and either put it behind me, or be able to tolerate it and move forward.  It’s been a dark cloud hanging over my recovery.  So now I get to see if it rains or if the sky clears.

All I can do is take it one day at a time and keep myself busy.  I have decided to start working on a quilt to keep me engaged and distracted when I am not at work or dance.

Speaking of dance, today we tried latin for the first time since my surgery.  It is definitely difficult and hard on me.  Nothing in my mid-section really wants to work the way I want it to.  My core tires very quickly.  That said, we were able to work through some rumba and samba, and just a little bit of jive today.  I think Boss is working on putting together some new exercises for me.

I am sore after my lesson, but not too bad.  I am curious to see how things feel tomorrow though, as I have some small aches here and there already.  My next lesson is tomorrow afternoon and I am looking forward to it.

Live coverage of Blackpool also starts tomorrow–I hope to catch a little bit here and there between work!

One thought on “The Return of Hormone Therapy

  1. Best of luck. I am almost at the end of a month holiday from Tamoxifen, and about to go back on it at 1/2 dose on Monday. Here’s to listening to our wise bodies moving forward.
    Regards
    Iris

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

