Taking Stock

Today was my first day back at work.

At least a 1/2 day anyway.  It will be 1/2 days for a little while.

Going back has made me a little introspective.  I am looking back over the last 18 months and I am taking stock of everything that has changed and looking to the future in a way I haven’t been able to since I got sick.

Work today left me a little more sore and tired than I expected, but overall it wasn’t too bad. I return to dance on Wednesday and while I am looking forward to it on one hand, on the other I am nervous.

It’s only been 3 weeks since my last surgery, although it does seem like it’s been much longer.  Last Friday I was able to sit down with Boss and do some planning and goal setting.  For the first time in a long time I am able to get back to focusing on competing.

The first goal will be to do my silver test in standard and latin.  That is going to require some new routines, but I am not too worried about those.  The exciting thing Boss told me was that the plan for my next competition, hopefully this fall, is to compete in both silver and gold–and that means adding gold steps to my silver routines.  We are also going to do a 3rd variation to the routines to make them more ‘open silver’–which is really getting outside the box.

That’s a big step forward, or a least a big sign of going forward. Boss also told me he is going to make changes to how I do exercises–less drilling of technique and more incorporating the technique I know into the steps I do.  I don’t know why, but I am a little nervous about that, although probably it is just because it’s a change.

I actually like drilling, so moving away from that is a big change for me.  I told Boss that I would do my best to try everything his way until the end of July, but if I found it wasn’t working for me, after that I would ask to go back.  I guess we will see how it goes.

We haven’t really nailed down goals for each style yet as neither of us knows where I am physically.  The main thing Boss told me was that we are going to focus on samba in Latin and it seems footwork in Standard.  He also told me that a lot of what we are going to work on is going to require going over stuff together again and again in lessons.  One of the big things I think will be increasing the use of lead/follow in latin–something I certainly can’t practice on my own.

As far as general goals, I told Boss I want to work on doing everything fully.  It might sound strange but some of the things I have done recently and watched have made me realize how much I hold myself back when I dance.  I don’t often take risks.  I am very happy within my own small box being careful and precise and relying on myself.

So it will be interesting to see what Boss does with that.

Wednesday will be a lesson of trial and adjustment I think.  I don’t know how much I will be able to do and how sore I will be doing it.  I have tried a few things like latin rocks at home and found that I have very low endurance in my core and tire out very quickly.

In general though, there are three traits of my dancing I am looking forward to getting back–my power, endurance and precision. All were things I knew I could count on in the past and were areas that I felt defined me a little as a dancer.  I am not a ‘cute’ or ‘sexy’ or ‘sleek’ dancer.  I am a strong, powerful one.

Or at least I was and hope to be again.

Who’s excited for Blackpool???

Leave a Reply

