A week of decisions

It looks to be a busy week.

I had one follow-up today with my family doctor to look at whether or not I would start the return to work process.  It was decided to wait until Friday after my appointment with the oncologist on Thursday.

I didn’t end up getting a drain in the end.  Friday turned out to be a confusing day.  First, I got called because I was told the wrong time and was late to my appointment.  Then it turned out I was scheduled for a more complicated procedure than I needed.

In the end, the radiologist searched around in my belly for a place to put the drain and found two different pockets of open spaces, one like a long line and the other a small hole.  The line was too narrow for a drain and the hole didn’t have any fluid in it.  So after a lot of poking and prodding, the radiologist decided that there would be little use to put a drain in.

I have no idea what this means.  My belly still feels spongy and inflated and there are some open pockets.  I see the surgeon on Saturday, but somehow I don’t think there will be anything we can do.

There was one disturbing thing from the procedure. As the radiologist was poking around with the ultrasound, he found a lump near my right hip he couldn’t identify because there was a shadow over it on the screen.  It was tender for him to touch.  I thought it was just my hip bone, but he said it didn’t match up with the other side.  I am not sure what to think of that.  It’s a question for the surgeon now, and hopefully he will be able to identify what it is.

Thursday when I see the oncologist I have to decide whether or not to try the hormone therapy again.  I really don’t know what to do right now.  The hot flashes are better, but they are still happening.  I am having some side effects from the medication I was put on to control them.  My intent is to discuss it with the oncologist and go from there.

On the dance side, things continue to go really well.  We are continuing to work through waltz, and rumba walks.  Depending on what decisions are made this week, I may talk to Boss about adding some to my exercises next week.  I am really excited about how things are going and how detailed we are able to get.  It’s been a while since I have been able to be so focused on dance.

Back to 2 lessons a week now, and I think my next lesson will be on Friday.  I will practice on Wednesday though, and I intend to do some work on my own for Waltz on Thursday to start getting into a routine of an extra night of practice in a week that isn’t just exercises.

Leave a Reply

