‘Bounce’

Sometimes in dance you end up having conversations that in any other context would just be strange and weird.

The main topic for my lesson today turned out to be my bum.

Yep, I don’t think I have ever thought or discussed my bottom so much in my life.

Let me explain…

My lesson started with rumba walks then progressed to working on my samba bounce.  Refining the technique for this is something fairly new for me, and I am happy to say that today we worked on progressing it.

Basically, my samba bounce exercise is about engaging the core to move the pelvis back and forth while bending the knees and isolating the pelvis from the upper body.  It reminds me a little bit of the move Michael Jackson does where he moves forward to stand almost on the tops of his toes–except I move back and forth in time with the music.

So Boss is watching me work on my bounce and giving me some direction to progress it and suddenly remarks ‘we have to figure out a way to emphasize your backside’.  Well, that was the beginning of the in-depth conversation about firstly how we can highlight how nice my bum is in latin, and secondly about how muscular it is and how sometimes it can ‘trick’ in standard.

I have to say that personally, I haven’t given much thought to my bottom, but I can see how it can be an asset in latin.  The funniest thing was actually talking about standard.  Apparently it is difficult to tell when I have my pelvis forward because when I engage my glutes to do this it lifts my bum up.

We also had a discussion about how since I had well-developed glute muscles, I should be using them more in standard to drive me forward and to the side.

Touche 🙂

The funniest thing about the entire conversation was that it didn’t even occur to me that we had spent a large part of my lesson discussing my bottom until after it was over and I was recapping it in my mind.  Suddenly the strangeness of it all hit me and I just couldn’t stop laughing.  Only in dance would a conversation like that be almost ‘normal’.

Body part discussions aside, it was another really good lesson, more focused on standard.  Boss made a small adjustment to one exercise, but he told me today that he now knows exactly what we need to work on more consistently and where the more consistent issues are.

So it seems he has a plan.  I am glad to hear that and I should probably schedule a session to discuss it in-depth with him in the near future.

On an exciting note, last week I was finally able to see my dressmaker to get started on my new dresses!  I can’t wait to see how these look, although perhaps now some small changes will be necessary for the latin dress.

This week I really felt like my old self back into working at a pretty top level for me.  It was a good feeling.  Next week will be about making adjustments to my diet to transition from ‘chemo diet’ to just regular old weight loss diet.  It will be nice to get off the chemo weight and be able to keep working towards my goal weight.

Nice bum and all 🙂

Leave a Reply

