First lesson back

Drain and all.

But I did it.  I got through it.  I was able to do everything we tried.

So far, so good.

We started by just trying a few things and starting to develop  new list of exercises for me to start working on.  It’s a small list, but it’s a start. Hopefully it will all be uphill from here, even if it is a steep hill.

Boss and I had a good talk yesterday in preparation for my coming back to lessons to make sure that we were both on the same page about how it should go.  It’s hard to set any real goals right now because my health is still in flux and neither of us know what to expect after the surgery.  So my first few weeks of lessons is going to be figuring what needs work, what needs focus and what we need to do to move forward.

We did some standard exercises, but we haven’t tried any standard together yet, that is apparently on the list for tomorrow.  I am looking forward to more experimenting.

For competing, we are looking to the fall, which works for me.  I want to make sure I give myself lots of time to really come back and regain my confidence and not feel rushed back onto the floor.  Everything is flexible as well.

The one main thing I notice coming back is how weak my ankles seem to be.  I don’t think they are so much weak, but just that the muscles need to be used in new ways with my lower centre of gravity.  I know as I keep working the muscles will develop and adjust.  So I am looking forward to that.

Tomorrow is my follow-up with the oncologist to decide what to do about the hormone therapy.  I am hoping that discussion goes well and that I am presented with some options.  I feel like I just started to get my life back–I don’t want to go backwards.  We’ll see how that goes.

Because the surgeon drained my belly before putting in the drain, nothing has started to drain yet.  Last time he drained it, it took 3 days for my belly to fill back up.  Especially after dance and being active tonight, I will see if things start draining now.  Maybe I will get lucky and nothing will happen and when I see the surgeon next week, the drain will be pulled and all will be good.  I can dream, right 🙂 ?

Next lesson is tomorrow night.  I am looking forward to it.  My plan is to try to start practice next week.

Baby steps.  Much better than no steps.

Leave a Reply

