Cancer-free

I got the news today.

The pathology from the tissue removed during my surgery came back 100% negative.  I am officially cancer-free.

12072696_10152976427326511_1640864994044382074_n

It’s a very surreal feeling.  I don’t think I have completely processed it yet.  And of course it doesn’t help that I am in the middle of trying to heal from a major surgery.

I have been dealing with cancer for so long it’s hard to realize it’s now behind me.  I only have to heal now and start hormone therapy in January to help ensure it never comes back.  I can completely understand how people almost find it harder after cancer than during.

So much has changed for me in the past year.  I have lost almost 1 year of work due to sick leave.  My body is dramatically different.  I have a lot of healing to do, both physically and mentally.  I am trying to figure out how to slowly pick up the pieces.

I can’t wait to get my last drains out on Monday, it’s a big step forward.  I am also going to ask if I can start doing my ballet exercises (since they are focused on stability) and rebuilding my arm endurance.  The worse the doctor can say is wait a little more.

I can’t wait to slowly start rebuilding.

5 thoughts on “Cancer-free

Leave a Reply

