Still progressing

But it is slow.

I haven’t written much because I haven’t had much to say that isn’t related to recovering from my surgery, and I miss dance a lot.  Right now it is hard to believe I will get back at it, but I know I will get there.

I still have 2 drains until Monday, but I was given permission to shower for the first time today (Yay!).  After two weeks of sponge baths, a shower never felt so good, even if I was juggling drains the whole time.

All of the steristrips are off my belly, but there are still some on my ‘noobs’.  Even that is a good step forward.

The biggest problem I am having right now is a sharp pain in my back whenever I take a big breath.  The doctor checked it out today and it seems the muscles are all inflamed, probably from a combination of things–that I have been less active and sitting more, that the surgery had me hunched forward and some small residual breathing issues from the surgery itself.

I am hoping that issue will work itself out as I become a little more active.

I do have one spot that is having difficulty healing on my left ‘noob’ that the doctor is keeping an eye on.  He was saying today it should heal, but it will take a while.  I am working on keeping it dry for now.  He also said if we need to, I have some extra skin they can use to close the spot.  I can’t say that was very encouraging.  I hope it just heals on it’s own.

I am really looking forward to Monday.  Without drains, there is a whole new freedom and I can wear normal pants again without having to worry about putting too much pressure on the drains.

I will find something dance-related to write about next time.

Leave a Reply

