It’s all in the details

I love consistency of learning.

I am also extremely detail-oriented and goal-oriented.

Finally, I am getting all 3 in standard–and I love it!

I am probably one of very few people who actually enjoy doing the same thing over and over and over again.

That’s because when it comes to dance it rarely is exactly the same as the time before.  There is always some sort of new sensation I feel or small subtle change I notice.  Doing things over and over again seems to be pretty key for me in standard.

I had a great lesson today focused again on foxtrot.  We are slowly going through the sequence in small details and my body is responding to the demands placed on it.  That’s a great feeling.  We got through the feather, reverse turn, feather ending, 3-step, to natural turn to hover cross today.

Because we kept doing it over and over, it gave me a little bit of time to try different things with my body to see what works and what doesn’t.  Boss still finds me being cautious when dancing with him, but it isn’t something I am doing consciously.  He had me do the first part to the feather finish on my own to see how it looks compared to when we are working together and interestingly, he found I was doing things too much on my own–I need to take smaller steps on my own, and bigger steps with him.

One of the main things I can tell I am struggling with is keeping myself forward over my supporting leg.  It’s better with him, and terrible on my own.  When I do it on my own, because I am doing too much I am almost falling over backwards into my steps.

That’s an interesting thing to think about and consider.

I don’t have a lesson tomorrow, but I do hope to get to the gym to practice on my own and I hope to have the energy to do a bit of work on my foxtrot on my own to work out some small things.  That’s my big goal for tomorrow.  I did have a good practice going through my latin routines tonight, the details I have been working on there seem to be coming more naturally and finally my right arm is starting to work better.

Overall, with the focus on standard this week, my body is definitely feeling it, but not in a bad way.  I am pretty sore and tender, but it is telling me I am working hard in a new way and I can always appreciate that.

I get a break this weekend, so it will be good for my body to rest and heal up for next week.

One thought on “It’s all in the details

  1. I have started to come around on the drills and repetition. You are so right about it not feeling the same way each time. I used to just get frustrated but now I’m a little like you and trying to figure out certain things change how a dance feels and then trying to lock in on what feels the best. I have found that if I get useful feedback, then it is less of a chore to be doing things over and over again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

