Oops on Smooth and Detailing Jive and Cha Cha

Oops!! Turns out that neither Boss nor I can make sense of my notes for the smooth routines, so we put them aside until Boss can get clarification from Instructor #2 and her notes (which will definitely be better than mine).  We should pick them up next week.

So, today was about Jive and Cha Cha.  That finishes off the detailing of going through all my routines, except for one part of my jive routine that Boss wants to think on some to decide what to do.

It was interesting today because Boss was getting unexpectedly creative in the jive routine.  Instead of just keeping things in the regular hold, he decided to change things up in the rolling off the arm and let me do it on my own while he put his hands on my hips.  It’s a pretty neat change up and makes me work to do the spin at the end of the move on my own without working off of him.  I like it 🙂

Cha cha was pretty straightforward, except he changed up the chase a little.  By the time we get into the chase we get pretty separated and I always seem to have to really move a lot to bring myself back closer to him.  He adjusted the choreography using a rock instead of a back lock so I don’t feel like I am running after him.  I need to work out what I do during the fan a little better for myself, and I need to get my right arm moving!

I have a really weird quirk with my right arm.  When I do latin, my left arm is very natural and always moving from my body movement and I never have to think about it.  My right arm, however, tends to just stick straight out to the side and do nothing like a stick.  It is the strangest thing!  It’s reaching the point where it is pretty annoying because if I don’t put conscious thought into moving my right arm, it just won’t go.  AND it feels very strange and awkward whenever I do use it.

I had an interesting request from Boss tonight.  He asked me to put into notes and to send him what I am focusing on in each latin dance routine, so he can make sure we are on the same page.  What is strange is that usually I am sending him this without him asking, so it was unexpected for him to ask me to do it.  I honestly hadn’t really thought about it yet.  I don’t usually make notes as, like the smooth routines, I find they tend to lose their meaning when I look back.

I work off of recreating physical sensations and doing repetition and it is hard to put that into viable notes.  I actually have to put some thoughts into trying to make some notes for Boss that will make sense.  It’s a good request, it’s just going to take a little bit to put together.

My next lesson is Monday and Boss said we are going to run through Paso a few times (he understands the difficulty of my trying to do it myself without him), and hopefully he will have heard from Instructor #2 so we can go through the smooth routines as we were supposed to do tonight.  If not, we will also work on Jive to finish up the detailing needed there.  Jive is another dance I can’t seem to quite get the routine together on my own, so it needs work.

Sunday I will finally have a chance to return to the competitor’s practice Boss runs and run through all my routines with him with music one after the other.  The last time I was able to go to the practice was back in April, before my chemo treatments zapped my strength and made Sundays a mandatory rest day.

I am a little nervous about my endurance going back.  It’s been a while since I have worked so intensely.  I just hope to be able to get through all the routines without having to start.  That’s my goal for Sunday.

Wish me luck!!

One thought on “Oops on Smooth and Detailing Jive and Cha Cha

  1. I have tried on multiple occasions to take notes and haven’t found a good way to make that work. Like you said, I just try and capture how something is supposed to “feel” and then try to recreate it. I do try to remember a few main points on what parts are supposed to move but I can’t find a good way to capture that in notes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

