Detailing Paso Doble

I really like Paso, but it’s a hard dance to practice on your own.

For some reason, my Paso routines never really stick in my head.  I try and do them on my own, but the steps don’t seem to want to come out.

Tonight Boss and I went through my Paso routine to do the detailing like we have been for my other Latin routines.  It was good to go through, but I find that unlike the other Latin dances, the details of this one are more dependent on working with Boss.  A lot of it has to do with how I work within my frame and connect with him through it–which is very hard to practice on my own.

I like the challenge of Paso because it is so different from the other Latin dances, it has a position all it’s own and has many similar challenges to the standard dances.  Even the way you step in Paso is different.  It almost requires it’s own skill-set.  I can understand why it’s usually the last dance people learn of the 5 Latin dances.

It will be interesting to see what I remember when I work on Paso on my own tomorrow during practice.  Just getting the steps down would be a good jump ahead.  It’s not that I don’t know the routine, it just doesn’t seem to want to come together without it being led.

I did get an interesting compliment tonight from Boss though–we were working through some steps and he looked over at my left arm and was impressed by the way I was holding it.  My shoulder wasn’t up, and my elbow was out where it should have been.  Basically, I was told ‘congratulations, you now have a frame’.  Good progress, I guess 🙂  If I can sort out my right arm I would be completely good to go.  It’s always nice to surprise Boss with some sort of unexpected progress, he doesn’t get impressed easily.

Tomorrow night I think we are going to work on the smooth routines, and next week we should go through Cha Cha and Jive to finish up the 5 dances.

We had a general talk about the competition in October.  I will do Latin only for a number of reasons, providing the budget works out and seems reasonable.  There may be another student going, so at least that will cut down on half of Boss’s travel costs.  Slowly we are getting closer to a final decision.

Leave a Reply

