Detailing Rumba

I finally got to have a lesson tonight (YAY!).

It was a good lesson and only my second since Boss and I cleared the air back at the end of July.  We had a lot of fun, but got a lot of work done.  We reviewed the details of the samba routine we did in the last lesson, and went completely through the rumba routine.

The interesting/nice thing was that I made a suggestion to do something a little different with my hands during one part and Boss agreed.  After we did it a few times he even told me it was a pretty cool idea.

Coming from Boss, that is high praise indeed!  Score 1 for me 🙂

My next lesson is tomorrow night, and I am not sure if we are doing Latin or Standard because we didn’t get a chance to discuss that tonight.  Guess I will see what we do, although I will mention to Boss that I would prefer to go through all the Latin routines first, then get down to focusing on Standard only.

We haven’t had a chance to discuss the competition yet either, but I am going to emphasize that I want to do this in the short-term and hopefully we can have that discussion soon.

I loved what we were doing in rumba, it really puts the icing on the cake to sort the details like arm styling and simple things like where to look.  It gives character to the dance.  Now that Boss and I have gone through it together, I can take what we have done and add a little bit of my own flavour to it with small things like facial expression and attitude.

I am enjoying the detailing more than I thought I would.  It probably sounds strange, but this is the first time I have really gone that far into detail with competition routines and it feels great to do.  Somehow, they just feel ‘finished’ and now it is a matter of repetition to lock the details in and put them together with the technique.  It adds a nice element of fun since these are things I can play with a little bit and I did notice that even the communication between Boss and I when we were working seemed better.  We were having fun while working, which hasn’t happened in a while.

I can’t remember I the last time I had a lesson that was so completely productive while also relaxed.

It’s a great feeling and a great way of working.

I am looking forward to seeing what is next 🙂

Leave a Reply

