Decisions, Decisions, Decisions!!

My lesson got cancelled today due to a hall issue.

I found myself pretty disappointed about that, but was a little glad that I was disappointed and not relieved.

These days it seems a little hard to tell exactly what is going on in my head.

But disappointed I was, although I was still able to get into the hall to go through a full practice.  I also finally heard from Boss about my goals/plan until my surgery and he agreed it was a good plan (YAY!), just that we need to clarify the execution a bit.

He is suggesting that since I (should!) have 3 lessons this week and next to make up for those missed while he was on vacation that one lesson be latin, one standard, one smooth.  I am not sure how I feel about that.  Part of me wants to just get through the latin routines before focusing on standard, so I can practice them on my own for a bit.  All of that also depends on if/what I will do at the competition.

I am not sure if I want to do the competition.  I can’t seem to make up my mind.  It could be a bad time to compete for me and while I would do my best for that day, it may not be my best performance.  It’s also a new competition, so it’s hard to say if there will be any competition in my age category.  I think Boss wants to do just Latin.

Again, I am not sure.  Part of me is thinking the most worthwhile thing to do might be a solo.  Then I would get some adjudication at least if I am not contested in other heats, which would be something.

There is also a possibility I might do my silver test in coordination with that competition, so there is that to think about too.

All of this needs some discussion with Boss, and unfortunately I wasn’t able to really talk with him about it tonight.  Hopefully tomorrow or Wednesday.

The other thing to consider, which is hard to predict is the cost of the main competition I want to do next April after recovering from surgery and everything else.  The exchange rate with the US is making everything more expensive and it is not a ‘cheap’ comp to start with as it is multiple days and involves flying.

I think part of me is starting to get worried I won’t be in the right shape for that competition after my surgery.  I am in a pretty good place now, but the surgery will change everything and I don’t want to go to a top-level competition if I am not able to be at the top of my game.

But it really is too soon to start worrying about that 🙂

At least there is the start of a plan in the works with Boss, we just have to agree on the execution.  I am not completely sure when my make-up lesson for tonight will be, but hopefully we will be able to fit one in this week.

Lots to think about, but in the end–I am just ready to have a lesson and feel like I am moving forward again.  I think I feel a little stalled from not having lessons for two weeks.

Just have to work through the decisions one at a time 🙂

Leave a Reply

