Turning around

Slowly my energy is coming back.

I doubt I will get back to pre-chemo shape before my surgery, but at least for the next couple of weeks, until the radiation kicks in, I get a bit of a reprieve and a chance to feel a little bit like my old self.

Two days of radiation down, so far not so bad, except…

I have had 2 treatments and my skin is already looking a little sunburned.  I have to check with the technologists tomorrow because it should be about 2 weeks before any signs show.  That doesn’t bode very well.  I hope it is just because I am so fair-skinned that the redness shows so soon.

That aside, I felt good practicing today.  Slowly I am getting used to wearing heels again.  My feet remain sensitive and crampy, but I am working through it best I can.  Every day I get through practice in heels is another day my feet and ankles get stronger.  My balance seems to be slowly coming back as well and I feel more confident in the shoes than 2 weeks ago.

It was nice to just run through everything today from top to bottom and feel pretty good about it.  I was able to go to my meditative happy place.  I was even able to run through my samba routine both slow and faster without messing up the footwork too bad, and with most of the detailing Boss and I worked on during my last lesson.  There is just one spot that isn’t quite together for me–rolling off the arm.  I just don’t seem to want to do the spins in time on my own.  They will come though 🙂

I think I am relieved to start seeing a glimmer of normalcy to my dancing again.  I have been struggling through things all during chemo, and while they are not easy now, hopefully the corner has been turned.

With a little luck, it will last a few weeks.  For the first time in a while, I am looking forward to a lesson and I want to get my goals sorted out.  I am still lacking some short-term focus, but hopefully Boss will have some direction on that.

Hoping to keep turning!

Leave a Reply

