Finish Line!

I am finished chemo!

It feels very strange to say that.  I feel like I am waiting for a phone call to tell me they made a mistake somehow and surprise!…here is 6 more months of torture.

It is a little like torture and I had to willingly do it.  I can understand how some chemo patients feel like they have PTSD after treatment.  I didn’t even have one of the main pain causing protocols and I dread the thought of ever having to walk into the chemo ward again and sit in that chair.

But hopefully, I will never need to.

I have at least 3 weeks ahead of me with nothing to do but recover from my last treatment, prepare for radiation and dance.  With any luck, my Port-o-Cath (a silicone disc inserted in my chest for receiving chemo) will also be removed during that time (it’s a day surgery).  I hope to hear about the next steps soon, because I think it makes me a little anxious to not have any appointments until I see my medical oncologist for follow-up in August.

Today, for the first time I went out in public with no hat, cap, or scarf.  That felt great!  It seemed strange to feel wind in my hair (yes, I said hair!!), and to be outside without something compressing my head in some way.

People keep asking me how I am going to celebrate.  I honestly have no idea.  I think I am just getting used to the idea that I have no bloodwork this week, no chemo, nothing but rest.

And dance!! A great coach is coming on Tuesday and Thursday I have Smooth lesson #3!

Here’s hoping the side effects stay mild 🙂

Leave a Reply

