A thought on ‘Dancesport’

I will warn that this post is completely my opinion as an inexperienced pro/am student, but also as a spectator.  I came across this link today: Balan-Moshenka Rumba Wuppertal.

Normally I enjoy watching dance of any type, but as I have mentioned previously, I have been a bit disappointed watching WDSF competitions, to the point where I have had to stop watching.

After watching this, I am not sure what to say. I don’t have much experience in dance, but I do know what I like as a spectator, and I don’t think you should have to be a dancer to enjoy it. I can’t enjoy this. I can say ‘wow she spins fast’, but that is about it. This is supposed to be dancing, not spinning, and shouldn’t there be some continuity to movement with the music? I am also not sure what her partner is doing besides mostly just shifting his weight from one foot to the other while she spins around him.

Like I said, I don’t have much experience in dance, but if this is the future of ‘dancesport’…..as a spectator that’s disappointing.

As a dancer….that’s a little terrifying.

Leave a Reply

