Canada Day! Resetting for restarting…

Happy Canada Day!

Just  short one today.

I am pretty stressed about returning to chemo on Friday.  After one week off I am seeing a little bit of what life post-chemo will be like without constant side effects, and I am not eager to return back to them.  Mostly I have been sleeping, although the heat probably isn’t helping. We are reducing the dose again to 80% of a full dose, and reducing the steroids to almost none.

The up side is that the side effects from the steroids should be less, but the down side is that I will probably need to take anti-nausea medication regularly.  I am very worried and scared that the next 3 weeks are going to be pretty intolerable health-wise.  Time to just suck it up and get through it.  Starting with bloodwork tomorrow it is back to usual programming for next 3 weeks.

On the dance side, I have some good news 🙂 and I hope this will be executable with my health.  Way back in January just before I started chemo I did a competition.  Boss and I were watching the open smooth competition and both of us were missing doing smooth (which I did when I was still at the franchise).  Near the end of the event, Boss suddenly turned to me and told me he knew what he wanted to do for fun.  He asked me if I would be willing to do open smooth routines and compete them.  I actually thought he was joking at first, but he told me he was serious.

I gave it some thought, because doing a third style would mean increased costs, but at the same time, I could see where doing smooth would benefit both my latin and standard and allow me to return to something I do miss.  I decided that yep, it was a good idea and that I was ‘on board’.

Because Boss hasn’t done any competing in open smooth before I suggested we work with a female instructor in town with whom he regularly collaborates and performs and used to compete in pro smooth to help us out.  Boss liked the idea, so next week I will have my first of 4 lessons to put together 4 open smooth routines.

Excited to do something different and to work with someone new !

Leave a Reply

