Things I need to remember are temporary…

…at least for the next 3 1/2 weeks until chemo is over, and they should slowly start to disappear and stop being ‘normal’:

  • Sore teeth
  • Rusty nail taste in my mouth
  • Sore nails and swollen toes
  • Sore sinuses and bloody noses
  • Aching all over
  • Needing 3 naps in a day
  • ‘Chemopause’
  • ‘Chemo Brain’ and a 15 minute attention span
  • Hot flashes
  • Not being able to get warm and having chills
  • Nausea
  • Dizziness
  • Really slow hair growth (ok, some places I can live with this!)
  • numb and tingling fingers and toes
  • Insomnia
  • Alligator dry skin
  • Needing to take my temperature every day
  • My port (it’s a silicone disc inserted in the chest under the skin to make it easier to deliver IV meds)
  • CHEMOTHERAPY

It’s amazing how one’s mind and body can adapt. I have 3 treatments left and after 5 months of dealing with these side effects I have just become accustomed to them.  There are probably others I don’t even realize.  I have come to realize that the last two weeks leading to my last two treatments (July 3, and 10th) are going to probably be the longest and hardest 2 weeks of my life.  I will be so close….and yet so far.  At least this week I have the showcase on Saturday to look forward to and lessons to keep me busy preparing for it.

I had an extra one tonight–I will let you know about it tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

